Flow is the debut album of AMP Trio , agroup comprised of three talented young musicians who met while attending the world-renowned University of North Texas Jazz Studies program. Pianist Addison Frei, bassist Perrin Grace, and drummer Matt Young each contribute not only as players but as composers.  AMP Trio has a modern sound but draws heavily from the Jazz and Classical tradition.

Addison Frei:

A native of Lawrence, Kansas, Addison Frei is emerging as a talented pianist in numerous musical circles. He was awarded first prize in the 2012 Jacksonville Jazz Piano Competition and was noted as the youngest competitor. Earlier that year, Addison was a finalist in the Phillips Jazz Piano Competition in Pensacola, Florida. Since the fall of 2010, Addison has attended the University of North Texas where he currently holds the piano chair in the prestigious One O'Clock Lab Band. While at UNT, Addison has performed with many jazz artists such as Mike Stern, Steve Turre, Brian Lynch, Bob Moses, and Dave Kikoski. He has quickly developed a strong reputation in the DFW area, garnering appearances ranging from Grammy-winner Adonis Rose's Krewe of Swing to the Mario Cruz Quartet to the Plano Symphony. Addison has been fortunate to study piano with renowned jazz educators Dan Haerle, Stefan Karlsson, and Michael Palma.


Perrin Grace:

Born in 1990 in Ann Arbor, Michigan, Perrin Grace is a bassist, composer and recording musician in the Dallas/Ft.Worth Metroplex. His father, Michael Grace, directed the jazz program at Community High School where Perrin grew up and trained as a musician. The four years Perrin spent in the program gave him playing experience at restaurants, clubs, parties, festivals, competitions, along with tours in Canada, Germany and Japan.

In 2008, Perrin received a scholarship to attend the Jazz Studies Program at the University of North Texas. Four years of keen interest and study gave him a thorough experience with the many components expected of a professional musician. He has played with 7 different lab bands and currently plays upright and electric bass in the 3 O'Clock Lab Band and UNT Concert Orchestra. He has studied with Lynn Seaton, Jeff Bradetich, Stefan Karlsson, Ed Soph, Jay Saunders and many other jazz and classical professors at university.  

Recently, Perrin's creative focus has been with the band Sky Window, a high energy, jazz fusion group, and AMP Trio, an acoustic piano trio. AMP Trio plays original music, as well as a long list of songs from the standard jazz repertoire. Each band provides an exciting and modern take on instrumental music from many idioms. Both bands recorded in the summer of 2012 and expect to release their debut albums. Perrin has many original compositions on both albums.

Matt Young:

Matt Young, a native of Atlanta, Georgia, is a drummer/educator/composer currently living in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area in Texas, majoring in Jazz Studies at the University of North Texas in Denton, TX. Currently in his third year at UNT, Matt is a touring and recording member of the Grammy-Nominated University of North Texas One O'Clock Lab band, and member of Grammy-Winning Bob Belden's band, Animation (RareNoise Records). Matt hasperformed around the world including recent performances at the Voll-Damm Jazz Festival in Barcelona and XXIII Festival Internacional de Jazz Ciudad de Almeria in Almeria, Spain. Matt also was the winner of the 2010 Percussive Arts Society International Drum Set Competition judged by Jeff Hamilton, Matt Wilson, and Stanton Moore.